

## **PRESS RELEASE**

## MEETING BETWEEN PRESIDENT BARROSO AND A DELEGATION OF EUROPEAN FILMMAKERS: THE AUTONOMY OF THE MEDIA PROGRAM IS ASSURED AND COOPERATION ESTABLISHED

Following a meeting with the President of the European Commission, Jose Manuel Barroso, European filmmakers have announced they are pleased with their fruitful exchange over the future of the MEDIA program.

President Barroso is a man of culture who shares the deeply-held belief of filmmakers that the MEDIA program should be upheld, in both its operational and budgetary autonomy. President Barroso not only reassured filmmakers as to the continuation of budgetary resources, but he even expressed his desire to further increase them in order to meet the complex challenges created by major economic and digital developments.

President Barroso also shares the deeply-held belief of filmmakers that culture must remain the cement of European citizenship, the finest way of driving the development of a true vision of a European future, with the film and audio-visual sector forming part of the "image" of our continent.

President Barroso committed to a close and permanent exchange and cooperation being established with actors of the film and audio-visual industry, in order to best define together the framework for the next MEDIA program.

The delegation of European filmmakers also expressed their wish to strengthen the instruments of close cooperation between the various departments of the Commission responsible for examining the cultural policies of member states, in particular in the area of public subsidies.

The filmmakers are therefore immediately ready to create this framework and new MEDIA priorities with the European Commissioner for Culture, Androulla Vassilou, fully aware that any progress will call for the highest requirements and extreme vigilance.

The ARP Board of Administration Paris, 18 March 2011

Press contact: Florence Gastaud – <u>fgastaud@larp.fr</u> – 01 53 42 40 09

## THE ARP BOARD OF ADMINISTRATION COMPRISES:

Radu Mihaileanu, President Claude Lelouch, Honorary President Pierre Jolivet, Jean-Paul Salomé, Dante Desarthe, Michel Ferry, Vice-Presidents And the other members of the Board of Administration: Jean-Jacques Beineix, Costa Gavras, Cécile Telerman, Evelyne Dress, Patrick Braoudé, Christian Carion, Dominique Crèvecœur, Lionel Delplanque, Michel Hazanavicius, Gérard Krawczyk, Jeanne Labrune, Philipe Muyl, Raoul Peck, Artus de Penguern, Coline Serreau, Abderrahmane Sissako